• home
  • people-all
  • studies
  • research
  • announcements
  • links
  • services

Prof. Petros Maragos (Biosketch)


Petros Maragos received the Diploma in E.E.  from the National Technical University of Athens (NTUA) in 1980 and the M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees from Georgia Tech, Atlanta, in 1982 and 1985. In 1985, he joined the faculty of the Division of Applied Sciences at Harvard University, where he worked for eight years as professor of electrical engineering affiliated with the Harvard Robotics Lab. In 1993, he joined the faculty of the School of ECE at Georgia Tech. During periods of 1996-98 he had a joint appointment as director of research at the Institute of Language and Speech Processing in Athens. Since 1998, he has been working as a professor at the NTUA School of ECE. His research and teaching interests include signal processing, systems theory, pattern recognition, and their applications to image processing and computer vision, audio, speech and language processing, cognitive systems, and robotics. He has served as:  Associate Editor for the IEEE Trans. on ASSP, IEEE Trans. on PAMI, and editorial board member and guest editor for several journals on signal processing, image analysis and vision; co-organizer of several conferences and workshops, including VCIP'92, ISMM'96, VLBV'01, MMSP'07, ECCV'10, EUSIPCO'12, 2011 & 2014 Dagstuhl Symposia on Shape; member of the IEEE committees on DSP, IMDSP and MMSP.


His is the recipient or co-recipient of several awards, including a 1983 Sigma Xi best thesis award, a 1987-1992 National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award, a 1988 IEEE SPS Young Author Best Paper Award, a 1994 IEEE SPS Senior Best Paper Award,  the 1995 IEEE W.R.G. Baker Prize Award, the 1996 Pattern Recognition Society's Honorable Mention Award, the EURASIP 2007  Technical Achievement Award for contributions to nonlinear  signal, image and speech processing, and the Best Paper Award of the IEEE CVPR-2011 Gesture Recognition Workshop.  He was elected a Fellow of IEEE in 1995 and of EURASIP in 2010 for his research contributions.